President and Leadership Team | Bastyr University


President and Leadership Team


Bastyr University has announced that Dr. Charles “Mac” Powell has stepped down from the position of University President effective immediately; recent health concerns have caused him to reassess his work-life balance. Harlan Patterson, immediate- past Chair of Bastyr’s Board of Trustees, has assumed the role of president on an interim basis while a search for a permanent president is being conducted. During this interim period, Mr. Patterson will continue to guide the University in the execution of its five-year strategic plan; and Board Member Tayloe Washburn will serve as interim Board Chair.

Dr. Powell joined Bastyr University on July 1, 2015. Under his leadership, the University increased naturopathic medical residency opportunities for its students, developed an extensive practice management and business toolkit for graduating students, doubled the University’s health policy and advocacy efforts, achieved record fundraising, and forged collaborative initiatives with an unprecedented number of research, academic and clinical partners. 

Mr. Patterson has served in a number of executive capacities with the University of Washington, most recently as Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration at University of Washington Tacoma, and as Executive Director of the Washington Vaccine Alliance. Mr. Patterson has an MBA from the University of Washington and a Bachelor’s in Business from Montana State University.

“Dr. Powell has positioned Bastyr University for growth during the coming years,” said Mr. Patterson. “We anticipate building upon the opportunities he has created to see that Bastyr remains a leader in the natural health arts and sciences.”


  • Leadership Team 
  • Strategic Plan 
  • Bastyr Leading a Movement