Bastyrians Celebrated in San Diego at AANP Conference

Physician of the Year: Michelle Simon, PhD, ND (’02)

The Physician of the Year Award is awarded to a physician who increases the competence level of their fellow physicians and models the highest of ethical standards in practice and service through following the Oath of Naturopathic Medicine. Dr. Simon demonstrates her excellence as a teacher of patients through her private practice in Seattle, Healthwise Integrative Medicine. Dr. Simon currently serves on the Washington State Health Technology Assessment Program Clinical Committee and co-directs the Communities in Need/Integrated Care Options Project. This WANP (Washington Association of Naturopathic Physicians) program aims to bring alternative forms of medicine to rural and under-served communities around Washington State.

Champion of Naturopathic Medicine: Heather Carrie, MAS

Given to a non-ND individual who is deeply committed to changing the landscape of healthcare through his/her championship of naturopathic medicine, the 2018 Champion of Naturopathic Medicine Award honors Bastyr’s Center for Health Policy Leadership Director, Heather Carrie, MAS.

As a champion for the profession, Heather has worked enthusiastically and effectively to expand access to naturopathic medicine through regulatory and workforce advocacy. Through her collaborative leadership, she has brought together multiple organizations, institutions, and associations to build relationships for workforce expansion with community health centers, public health initiatives and educational training programs. Her efforts led Bastyr University in becoming a Live Well San Diego recognized partner and to an ongoing partnership with Northwest Regional Primary Care Association. Heather works effectively in both the policy arena with government officials as well as leading community outreach efforts.  She has met with state legislators in multiple states and with members of Congress to advocate for ND licensure, scope of practice expansion, Medicare & VA inclusion and for Graduate Medical Education reform to include public funding for naturopathic medicine residency funding.

“Heather Carrie is a leader for the naturopathic profession.  Her abilities to bring together people from all walks of life, mentor students and hold an expansive vision for the future of naturopathic medicine makes here the ideal advocate for our profession.  It is a true honor to know Heather and to have been able to see the work she has done to advance the naturopathic profession over the years,” says Dr. Tabatha Parker, Executive Director of the Academy of Integrative Health and Medicine and 2015 AANP Physician of the Year award recipient.