Naming Ceremony Honors the University’s Four Founders

A ceremony April 22, 2015, on the Kenmore campus officially named four cottages in the Student Village after the founders of Bastyr University: Joseph E. Pizzorno, Jr., ND; Les Griffith, ND; Sheila Quinn; and William A. Mitchell, ND.

Attendees included about 60 faculty, staff and students, former trustees, the three living founders and their families, and members of Dr. Mitchell's family.

The unveiling of the naming plaques, located on the exterior and interior of each hall, was highlighted by brief remarks by each respective founder and Leah Mitchell, ND.

A reception followed in the courtyard between the halls. The plaques create an ongoing bond between those who first established the University and those who come here to prepare for professions in the natural health arts and sciences.